Click here for Agendas and Minutes

Chair: Jose Alvarado


Committee Members: William Burton, Peter Harckham, Jim Maisano, Sheila Marcotte, Judy Myers, Martin Rogowsky, William Ryan, Bernice Spreckman, Lyndon Williams,


Staff: Olivia Rhodes, Anne Reasoner, Davide Cabbibo, Sally Schecter


The Budget and Appropriations Committee is charged with maintaining the fiscal integrity of the County and with ensuring that Westchester’s taxpayers receive the most efficient and effective government at the least cost. To this end, all matters of budgetary significance are referred to the Committee for discussion before being referred to the full Board. In the course of the County’s fiscal year, the Committee:

  • Contracts for and reviews the annual independent audit of all county financial dealings, transactions and records conducted by an outside CPA firm;
  • Reviews and modifies, where appropriate, the proposed county budget;
  • Monitors all county operational and capital expenditures;
  • Analyzes and reviews all fiscally related matters and makes recommendations on those matters to the full Board for consideration;
  • Seeks opportunities for operational reform that will lead to better and less costly county government.

The following sit on the Citizen’s Budget Advisory Committee:
  • John D. McGarr, Co-Chair
  • William Kay III, Co-Chair
  • Justin C. Brasch
  • Wiley Harrison
  • Howard Klein
  • Frances D. MacEachron
  • Julie Stern
  • Barbara Strauss
  • Robert Wall

The Committee seeks regular input on fiscal matters from the public through public hearings and through monthly meetings of the Citizen's Budget Advisory Committee (CBAC). The public is invited to attend these meetings.

See 2011 Schedule below:

Monday, March 7th 6pm
Monday, April 4th 6pm
Monday, May 16th 6pm
Monday, June 13th 6pm
Monday, July 18th  6pm
Monday, August 15th 6pm
Monday, September 12th 6pm
Monday, October 24th 6pm

*November meetings will be determined at a later date.

**Meetings are held in the Westchester County Board of Legislators Committee Meeting Room located on the 8th floor of the Michaelian Office Building at 148 Martine Avenue in White Plains, NY.