A+ A A-


Board Honors 2019 Regeneron Science Talent Search Scholars

Regeneron Honorees

White Plains, NY — On Tuesday, the Westchester County Board of Legislators held a special ceremony to honor the high school students from the County who were chosen as scholars in the 2019 Regeneron Science Talent Search.


The 27 Scholars from Westchester were among the 300 of nearly 2,000 applicants nationwide chosen in this year's edition of the country's most prestigious pre-college science and math competition.  Alumni of the 78-year-old competition include Nobel Prize winners and National Medal of Science recipients.

The local students, including four finalists, represent 13 Westchester high schools. They were each awarded special certificates in a ceremony held at the Board's Chambers with legislators, family members, science teachers, principals, and representatives of Tarrytown-based Regeneron, which has sponsored the competition since 2017. The event also included an appearance by the County Executive, George Latimer.

Board Chair Ben Boykin (D - White Plains, Scarsdale, Harrison) said, "This is always one of the proudest events of the year at the Board of Legislators – a time when we honor some of the best and brightest young people not just in our county, but in the nation. These students are an amazing and talented group of scholars. They are our future and we know our world is in great hands."

Potoula Gjidija, Regeneron's Director of Corporate Citizenship, told the gathering, "The Regeneron STS not only recognizes the merit of these students’ scientific research but also their potential to really make a difference in the world. These are leaders in their classrooms, in the labs, and beyond.”

Legislator Margaret Cunzio (C - Mount Pleasant, North Castle, Pleasantville), a former classroom teacher and a current college professor, whose brother was a Science Talent Search semifinalist and who has seven Scholars in her district this year, praised the students for their weeks, months and even years of dedicated research, adding, "The skills that you have learned, both academic and life skills, that you now possess will be with you for life, no matter what path you choose."

Below is a list of a list of the student award recipients and their schools listed by legislative district:

District 1 – Hon. John G. Testa

WALTER PANAS H.S., Principal Joseph Spero
Riti Bhandarkar

LAKELAND H.S., Principal Christopher Cummings
Jothi Ramaswamy

District 2 – Hon. Kitley S. Covill

JOHN JAY H.S., Principal Steven Siciliano
Heather Sherr

SOMERS H.S., Principal Mark Bayer
Rachel Joseph

District 3 – Hon. Margaret A. Cunzio

BYRAM HILLS H.S., Principal Christopher Walsh
Samantha Abbruzzese
Alan Chang
Rachel Chernoff
Alessandra Colella-Albino
Ethan Jacobs
Jonah Schwam
Brent Perlman (FINALIST)

District 4 – Hon. Michael B. Kaplowitz

HORACE GREELEY H.S., Principal Andrew Corsilia
Chirag Kumar (FINALIST)
Aditi Singh (FINALIST)
Anna Zhang

YORKTOWN H.S., Principal Joseph DeGennaro
Sayli Satpute
Shrila Shah
Diane Yang

District 9 – Hon. Catherine Borgia

BRIARCLIFF H.S., Principal Debora French
Anna-Samsara Daefler

CROTON-HARMON H.S., Principal Alan Capasso
Melissa Stok

OSSINING H.S., Principal Stephen Hancock
Emma Montgomery (FINALIST)
Elliot Ocheltree
John Sukumar

District 11 – Hon. Terry A. Clements

PELHAM MEMORIAL H.S., Principal Jeannine Clark
Caitlin Wong

District 12 – Hon. MaryJane Shimsky

ARDSLEY H.S., Principal Rudy Arietta
Alexandra Rivera

EDGEMONT H.S., Principal Kyle Hosier
Angie Jang

IRVINGTON H.S., Principal David Cohen
Jacob Dunefsky
Annie Horowitz


For more information on the Regeneron Science Talent Search visit the website

For more photos, click here.

PICTURED ABOVE: Westchester County Regeneron Science Talent Search Scholars and Finalists joined by members of the Board of Legislators and Regeneron representatives. Photo: Jaevon Boxhill


Newsroom Keyword Search